La Verne

City of

Districting Information

In July, the La Verne City Council unanimously approved a resolution to initiate the process to switch from at-large elections to by-district voting in order to avoid potential costly litigation and allow for more equitable elections and accountability among representatives. This new voting system could create five districts, each having one representative on the City Council which would then have a rotating mayor.

Local governments use data from the Census to draw and redraw their voting district lines to reflect how local populations have changed. The City’s final maps, informed by resident-drawn maps, resident feedback on communities of interest and demographer expertise, must follow strict legal requirements including those that prohibit the consideration of current Council Members or political candidate residences and forbid racial gerrymandering. Members of the La Verne community are encouraged to participate in the districting process to ensure district lines respect neighborhoods, history and geographical elements.